Home> News> Company News

Executive Director of Xinyi Glass Mr Lee Shing Kan Awarded Medal of Honour by Chief Executive of HKSAR

发布时间:2024-07-05 17:52阅读次数:

(Hong Kong, 5 July 2024) – Xinyi Glass Holdings Limited (“Xinyi Glass” or the “Group”) (stock code: 00868) congratulates Executive Director Mr Lee Shing Kan on being awarded the Medal of Honour by the Chief Executive of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (“HKSAR”) in recognition of his outstanding contributions to the Hong Kong society. Mr Lee also serves as a Non-Executive Director of Xinyi Electric Storage Holdings Limited (“Xinyi Electric Storage”).

Mr Lee Shing Kan is a young industrialist who loves his country and Hong Kong. He is a board member of Xinyi Glass and Xinyi Electric Storage, and also holds key political and business positions, including Standing Committee Member of the Sichuan Provincial Committee of the Chinese People's Political Consultative Conference, Chief Supervisor of the Federation of HK Sichuan Community Organizations and Chairman of the Hong Kong Sichuan Youth Association. In 2022, Mr Lee won the “New Generation Enterprise Elite Award” at the Hong Kong Innovative Technology Achievement Awards 2021, honoring his contribution to the industry. 


As for philanthropy, Mr Lee Shing Kan previously served as a Director of the Tung Wah Group of Hospitals. From 2023 to 2024, he has also served as the Chairman of the Lok Sin Tong Benevolent Society, Kowloon, which has a 143-year history in Hong Kong. During his tenure as Chairman, he established the "Lok Sin Tong Lee Shing Kan Social Housing Seed Fund" (樂 善堂李聖根社會房屋種子基金) and collaborated with the HKSAR government to launch several transitional housing projects called "LST Housing" (樂屋). He donated funds to sponsor air conditioning and water heater facilities for all "LST Housing" units, and also set up the "LST Housing Network" to provide information and application assistance for subdivided flat residents to apply for "LST Housing" housing, bringing a sense of happiness to underprivileged families residing there. Mr Lee also led his team to create Hong Kong's first "Sham Shui Po Community Living Room" (深水埗社區客廳) project, which is a government-business-public collaboration. This project was commended by Mr Xia Baolong, Director of the Hong Kong and Macao Work Office of the Communist Party of China Central Committee and the Hong Kong and Macao Affairs Office of the State Council, who believes that the project directly addresses the difficulties and pain points faced by subdivided flat tenants, and is worthy of promotion. Mr. Lee Shing Kan has also donated and sponsored the "Strive and Rise Programme" (共創明 『Teen』計劃) of Commission on Poverty, as well as Elderly Academy project with the Directors. Through visits to the Greater Bay Area and Sichuan, Chairman Lee broadened the horizons of the Lok Sin Tong team, encouraged more exchanges and integrations. 

Mr Lee is currently the Chairman of the District Services and Community Care Development Fund (Yuen Long) (地區服務及關愛發展基金(元朗) ). He also sponsored the Lok Sin Tong team to travel to all 18 districts in Hong Kong, providing medical and social service training for the district's care teams. He actively involves in community affairs and voluntary work, particularly youth affairs, with the aim of helping the disadvantaged.

Mr Lee Shing Kan said, “I feel extremely honored to be able to serve the country and Hong Kong. I would like to thank the Chief Executive of the HKSAR for the recognition, and all sectors of society, my family and colleagues for their continued support. I will continue to work with all walks of life to fully support the country and Hong Kong in achieving better development and building a better home: working together for the long-term stability of one country, two systems, harmony and prosperity.” 

For the Honours List, a total of 502 persons have been awarded by the Chief Executive this year. The award recipients come from different walks of life with diverse backgrounds. They have made significant contributions to Hong Kong, benefitting various domains and sectors of the community, including public and community service, education, medical and public health, finance, trade and industry, innovation and technology, charity, arts and culture, sports, housing, transport, construction and urban development, environment, religion, labour and welfare, women and youth affairs, and professional services. The presentation ceremony for the awards will be held later this year.